Museums of St. Claude, MB

St. Claude, MB offers a wealth of culture celebrating the heritage of the lifestyle and history of the French community in Manitoba. A Roman Catholic Church that is known for its historical and architectural importance, a Dairy Museum celebrating the progress of the dairy industry over time, an old Gaol showing where criminals were incarcerated and various other sites throughout the community showing the contributions of the french community to our region and its culture.
 
St. Claude Tourism Committee
Museums of St. Claude, MB

Tel: 204.379.2323

The Miami Railway Station Museum is part of the Pembina Valley Central Plains Passport Adventure. Click the logo below for more details….
Manitoba Dairy Museum
Museums of St. Claude, MB

Tel: 204.379.2609

shstclaude@gmail.com
Manitoba Dairy Museum Complex features local and provincial dairying from early practices to modern processing. The Museum grounds include agricultural exhibits showing the growth of this industry, as well as the Saint-Claude Museum with its 2,000 bilingually catalogued artefacts that tell the story of Saint-Claude at the turn of the century and the Bell School Museum which depicts a typical county school from the pioneer days. Also featured is a Chapel containing religious artefacts from Saint-Claude’s two previous churches.
 
Open June 20 – September 5
Monday – Saturday 10:00 am – 5:00 pm
Sunday: 1:00 – 5:00 pm
 
 
St. Claude Gaol Museum
Museums of St. Claude, MB

Tel: 204.379.2156

jquayle@mts.net
The Gaol Museum and Tourist Office are on Highway 240 in the town centre. The original Gaol (or prison) was built in 1912, and was restored in 2006. The Gaol houses two cells, one complete with prisoner’s bunk and “biffy”. Displays explain the history of the gaol and indicate some of the incidents that happened and characters who ’inhabited’ the building. The building also houses the regional tourist office. The Gaol Museum celebrated its centennial in 2012.
 
Open July 1 – August 27
Monday – Saturday 10:00 am – 5:00 pm
Sunday: 1:00 – 5:00 pm
 
 
St. Claude Bell School
Known as the Mezieres School District when it was established in March 1919, it was renamed Bell in 1920, in honour of local resident Donald Bell. A one-classroom, wood frame schoolhouse, teacherage, and stable were built on a 40-acre site at NE23-9-8W in what is now the Municipality of Norfolk Treherne. In August 1920, the school opened for classes in grades 1 to 8, with instruction in grades 9 to 10 by correspondence.
 
 
Saint-Claude Roman Catholic Church
The Saint-Claude Roman Catholic Church was designed by architect Etienne Gaboury who designed the Saint-Boniface Cathedral. With its long narrow tinted windows, the interior is as unconventional in concept as is its unusual exterior and surrounded by beautiful gardens.
 
 
Ste. Therese Chapel
Museums of St. Claude, MB

Tel: 204.379.2679

St. Claude, MB
 
2,000 bilingually catalogued artifacts that tell the story of Saint-Claude at the turn of the century.
 
Open July long weekend to September long weekend.
 
Hours of Operation:
Mon.-Sat. 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Sun. 1-5 p.m.
Also open by appointment.
 
Bastille Day July 17

Saint-Claude is the only community in Canada to celebrate Bastille Day (July 14th), the commemoration of the 1789 destruction of the Bastille Prison in France and the French National Holiday.


Elm Creek is home to the second largest H4 chondrite (a class of stony meteorite) ever found in Canada. The 8.2 kg mass was found by a local grader driver on a rural road in 1997. The meteorite is located at the Prairie Homestead Museum & Entertainment Centre.
(Please note: picture is a sample of what H4 Chrondite looks like but an actual picture of the metorite found in Elm Creek is not yet available.)

Top